I like my food live and kickin

A few years ago I was having huge “gut issues” as my mother would say. Couldn’t eat, felt ill all  the time. Took a year, docs treating symptoms not the cause and an elimination diet to figure out me and gluten had to break up. Gasp…I know…During the first year of acclimation both for myself emotionally and my colon I started playing around with live food.  By live food I mean live culture foods. Like yogurt, kombucha, sauerkraut, miso etc… I made a lot of sauerkraut and wished I was blogging then cuz those would have been some wicked pics and recipes. During my research and hunting out other fermented yummies I discovered Sandor Katz and his wild fermentation site and book.

It was with his earnest and light-hearted style of writing that I stopped being afraid of playing with live cultures in my kitchen. Granted this year I moved to a place half the size so haven’t been making any yummies and my gut is starting to reflect the loss to its health.  A friend of mine recently made his first batch of sauerkraut and its so yummy. I just eat it right from the jar.  The current issues with kumbucha has also encouraged me that its time to try my hand at my own kombucha culture…that will be a fun journey to share.

Today I just wanted to share of 2 of my favorite books in my kitchen, One is Sandor Katz, Wild Fermentation, the flavor, nutrition and craft of live-culture foods and the other book is ..missing….from my self. One of my bad habits is lending book and then forgetting that I did. Luckily I have the internets at my fingers.

The second book is: Putting Food By, by Janet Greene, Ruth Hertzberg this is a must have for anyone considering canning, freezing , drying etc. If you grow anything yourself get this book. Or if you always wanted to take advantage of a large crop at the farmers market want it to last all year. This book is a must have.

 

this is the newest version. I suggest get the most recent

 

 

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in books/media, canning, cool stuff, foodie news and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

