A is for Afghani Chicken

nom nom nom nom nom

I was inspired by this bold souls 195 countries/195 meals/195 days challenge. I don’t know about a whole meal based on a country every day but totally up to doing a recipe from each country. I do like starting alphabetically so tonight I made Afghani Chicken breast. This is an iconic dish that has many recipes online. Would be best with a whole bone in chicken cut into pieces but I am using skinless boneless breast. The ingredients in common are garlic, citrus, yogurt, ginger.

It’s a yogurt marinade and then the chicken is grilled.

My marinade is:

1 cup whole live plain yogurt

juice of 1/2 lemon and the zest

8 cloves of chopped garlic

1tbl chopped or grated fresh ginger

1tsp turmeric , cumin and black pepper

mix together and put in container or ziplock bag with 2lbs chicken breast. with a knife make some cuts in the chicken for the marinade. I let mine sit or 4 hrs but overnight would be best especially if using bone chicken like thighs.

Light grill or start grill or can do in over. I did a propane grill about 400 degrees or so.

Grill until cooked through, I basted each side as the turned. Next time I will cut the breast into pieces to get more yummy flavor coverage and for quicker cooking time.

Once done serve with warm naan or pita and greens or a marinated vegetable salad. It was delicious, tender and did I say yummy? Kids loved it on the pita said it was very tender and juicy. I took a pic and will upload tonight.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in foodie news, meaty goodness, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A is for Afghani Chicken

  1. Very shortly this web page will be famous amid all blogging people,
    due to it’s fastidious articles or reviews

Leave a Reply

