Prayer Shawl

I started a prayer shawl for Farmer Vicki. She is an amazing farmer who runs a CSA. I had a lot of economic struggles this year and couldn’t afford a share of the CSA. I have been a shareholder for a few years now. When I told Vicki I couldn’t afford this years share, she said every year we give a share to a family in need and it seems you are the family this year. I am forever grateful to Vicki for her support and her persistence in one of the worst growing seasons we have had in the Midwest in a long time.

prayer shawl

my lovely model shows the size of this good thoughts shawl

A prayer shawl is about intention and with every stitch of this shawl I thought of Vicki, the farm, her family and all the farm hands that in one way or another were a part of my family every week this year. I wanted to make an everyday shawl, something you could grab in the am or pm and not worry about it getting dirty or damaged.  As I have been knitting many people have remarked on the wookie costume I must be making as its brown and fuzzy and so warm but still washable. I will give to Farmer Vicki at the local farmers market before the season is done so she can keep warm this winter. Feel free to check out the CSA here: Genesis Growers CSA

The patter for the prayer shawl can be found here along with more about the ritual behind it. Prayer Shawl Pattern

Many patterns and more details about my creations are on Ravelry-a crochet and knit community site my user name is CaptainBlood.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in craftiness, CSA, patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

