Tell me why I hate Mondays….

sprayroses

spray roses and limonium made for a nice arrangement

Yesterday sucked..sick kid and huge network and system issues at work. By the time I got home last night I was in need for some spirit lifting moments. It really is the little things.

I had stopped at one of our location and had gotten a bunch of spray roses that were past their prime, but more than pretty enough for me. They really helped turn my spirits around.

I then focused on finishing off a few knitting projects that needed blocking and the ends woven in. One is a cowl done in a lace pattern, it was my first and was way easier than I had anticipated.  It is currently drying and blocking, it looks like a pinned bug, maybe a scarf bug?

The cowl pattern is well written and easy to follow, does have the kitchner stitch was also a new experience for me

Cowl pattern

lace block

When I am stressed I like to torture innocent knitting projects

I also completed the striped scarf I was making for my son’s friend. It’s pretty basic:

CO 27, R1:K, R2-second to last R: K4,*P2, K2* until last 3 stch, P1, K2. This is meant to be  made of remnant skeins, so some stripes are different widths (most average 14-20 rows), I used chunky weights, organic cotton, acrylics, dbled strands of worsted, basically what ever I had on hand.  I did try to give the colors some fluidity while keeping the bohemian/hipster vibe going. I steam blocked it so I could do the stripes individually according to the yarn composition. It has been coveted by many already. I suggest it for any  10-20 y.o.   you have lurking around as it has a similar look to the scarves in season at the Gap and urban outfitter’s this year. You get to give a gift made out of leftover yarn. I love projects that use what I have on hand.

striped scarf

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in craftiness, patterns, updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tell me why I hate Mondays….

  1. Pingback: Assassins cowl « Queenofone's Blog

Leave a Reply

