Hot Salad

A friends nephew calls greens “hot salad” and the name just tickles me.

Went to the Cave on Wednesday as my girl needed some moral support. For me that means food and I know she loves herself some greens. So I walked in gave her a hug and said, “I’m going to make some greens.”  Here is the recipe for the greens i threw together and basically my catch-all formula for greens. I occasionally add garlic and peppers or chopped tomatoes to the onions. I’ve also substituted portabello mushrooms for bacon to make a vegetarian version.

1                                large onion (this time I used red onion) sliced

1/4 lb                      bacon, chopped small

2 bunch                  greens (I used a mixture of collard, turnip and beet greens) chopped and well washed

1/4 cup                   white vinegar

1 tsp                         red pepper flakes

2 tbl                         sugar, granulated

1/2 cup                  water

In a heavy bottom pot, over medium heat cook bacon until it starts to crisp. Add onion and stir well, lower heat and cook onions until translucent.  Add greens and cover pot for a few minutes so as to wilt the greens. Stir well add water and red pepper flakes, cover and cook over low heat for 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove lid add vinegar and sugar stir well. Cook for additional 5 minutes test for tenderness and seasoning. Add salt and pepper to taste, if needed cover and cook until greens are tender.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in foodie news, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

