Gluten free crepes/ pancakes

Last September, after over a year if intestinal hell, I discovered I was gluten intolerant. To a foodie like me, this was a crushing blow. My guts were so tore up I spent 3 months sans gluten or dairy (only goat cheese allowed),  I also couldn’t “stomach” soy, beans/legumes, bananas etc. Processed food would leave me in agony.  I spent a lot time ingesting and making live foods such as kombucha, saurkraut and other fermented drinks and foods. I feel lucky that I was able to regain my gut health and know what to avoid or add to maintain that.

baking mix

this is what I used for quick GF crepes

Of course this has led to much experimentation both with gluten free products and cooking. I have come far enough that I can tolerate small amounts of occasional gluten in my diet.

I am luckier the those who suffer from celiac disease, if you suspect you may have issues with gluten or wish to learn more please visit the Celiac Disease Foundation.

As a former chef for many years and a bit of a foodie/snob, there are few gluten free baking mixes or products that I think are really yummy. I generally such forgo or make my own when I feel the need for traditional wheat flour items.  For  3 days I have been craving pancakes. I have some gluten free pancake/baking mix, but honestly the pancakes tend to be mealy and dry. I used the guidelines on the back for pancakes but used half the amount of the mix. I wanted a thinner batter with a higher egg ratio, similar to crepe batter. I found a video that is pretty spot on for how to make crepes on you tube. Just fast forward past the batter making and you will see the method for crepe cooking. Keep in mind, that since the gluten is absent from the batter our crepes are much more fragile and have little elasticity.

Handle them gently when flipping over. GFpancake2 I was impressed actually that it worked this morning and looked so good. Once each crepe was finished I turned it onto a plate smeared it with jam and a pat of butter, I then would flip the next one on top and give it the same treatment. the final top crepe I drizzled with maple syrup and a pat of butter.  Would be yummy with fresh fruit and whipped cream.

Last winter,my then BF, took pity upon me and developed this recipe for Gluten free pumpkin pancakes that is YUMMY.  I really wanted these, but didn’t have most of the ingredients on hand, maybe next weekend. Here is that fabulous recipe, luckily I got to keep all food creations in the break up. Kids like these as well and will not realize that they are GF. GFpancakes1

Gluten Free Pumpkin Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup brown rice flour
  • ½ cup tapioca starch/flour
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • ¼ cup plain or vanilla rice milk
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. cinnamon
  • Dash of grated nutmeg
  • ½ cup cooked pumpkin puree
  • 1 tblsp. Honey
  • 2 tblsp. Baking powder

Mix well and cook on pre-heated griddle or pan. Spoon batter onto hot surface, no oil is needed on cooking surface as the coconut milk provides plenty of oil. Cook over medium heat until bubbles appear on surface and flip onto other side. Cook for additional 1-2 minutes. Serve with maple syrup.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in foodie news, Gluten free, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gluten free crepes/ pancakes

  1. Snottyboy says:

    Oh that looks so yummy. Damn you and your deliciousness!

Leave a Reply

