Canned Pickeled Beets

It wasn’t until I became a cooking professional that I developed a palate for food items I had deemed gross in my childhood. One of those is beets. When I discovered baby beets in many varieties lightly streamed and eaten in a salad with a hand crafted vinaigrette, I fell in love. I get a lot of beets from the CSA and this year wanted to can pickled beets. I stick to pickled or high acid canning because its easy, I don;t need a pressure canner and can be done on the fly. Monday night I had a bunch of beets from the farm and decided to pickle them up. I came up with my own pickling mix for beets that I really enjoy. It contains; coriander seed, charnushka, star anise, and cinnamon. I also add sliced red onions, I feel they balance out the flavors. I make a pickling syrup of equal parts vinegar (white or cider) and sugar, I put the whole spices in either cheesecloth or a spice bag to removed after heating.  I use the book -Putting Food By and have been utilizing it for over a decade for my food preservation needs. It is more of a guideline and techniques. I generally then come up with my own spice blends. One of the best items I’ve done this year was pickled green beans. I put fresh lemon grass, ginger, garlic, pink peppercorns and sichuan peppercorns in the jars. It lent them a lemony crisp bean with a kick.

I decided to try and photo journal the process and have them below. If you rather not can them, follow the recipe I have and put them in the refrigerator in a sealed container. Bets if you allow them to sit so the flavors can develop. If canned let them sit for at least 3 weeks before eating for best flavor.

*I want to stress it is important that you first read about canning and the equipment and dangers that are part of the process. This is more a quick guideline for experienced canners.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in CSA, foodie news, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

