Pumpkin and Cabbage Soup

I have a fridge and freezer of veggies and other items I need to utilize asap. I made a few items this evening and more to come tomorrow. This soup is a total fabrication and is full of yummy meaty goodness.  I jotted down the recipe quickly while cooking, as always vary amounts etc to your taste/lifestyle. I just happened to be making meatball mix for freezing in batches and decided mini meatballs would be good in the soup as well. For a vegetarian option, I would either use soyriso? (the soy chorizo) or another veggie type sausage. I would also add cannellini beans if going sans meat or even with the meat.

 

Pumpkin and Cabbage Soup

1        red onion, sliced

2 tbl.   cooking oil

2-3 oz    bacon, diced

1/2   medium head green cabbage, sliced thin

3-4 leaves   fresh sage, chopped

2.5 qts  water/stock (I used a combination of chicken stock and water)

1 lb     pumpkin, roasted and pureed

salt and pepper  to taste

15-20 mini meatballs  browned in skillet (totally optional)

It’s soup party time…..u can’t touch this

In large pot heat oil over medium heat. Add red onions and bacon and cook until bacon begins to brown and onions are limp. Add cabbage and sage and cook over medium heat stirring occasionally until cabbage appears limp. Add water, stock and pumpkin. Stir well, reduce heat and cover. Cook at a gentle simmer for 20-30 minutes. Taste for seasoning.

optional: make your own meat ball mix, small one bite balls, saute until brown then add to soup and simmer additional 10-15minutes. Can also purchase meatballs, quarter them and add to soup. I will be adding my meatball recipe soon.

hard to resist just one bowl

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in foodie news, recipes, soups/stews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pumpkin and Cabbage Soup

  1. Snottyboy says:

    Oh more extra decadent deliciousness. I may be doing this for holidays.

  2. queenofone says:

    I really was shocked at how tasty it is. It has great mouth feel and just so savory. If only we could eat with some hot crusty bread…sigh

  3. Pingback: Now Thats a Tasty Meat-a-Ball « Queenofone's Blog

  4. Pingback: and on the 8th day …..I rested | Queenofone's Blog

Leave a Reply

