Depression Era Spicy Molasses Pie

I dislike turnips. I had gotten 4 fresh lovely turnips from the farm and was at a loss for what to do with them. I usually toss them in a soup or stew but felt I was coping out on this standard of farm cooking. I found a recipe utilizing rutabagas and decided turnips were close enough.  This was a perfect example of a Depression era recipe, utilizing a common cheap ingredient to make a deceptive item that seemed to contain different ingredients. The pie turned out well almost pumpkin like in flavor but more delicate and spicier. It definitely needs some type of topping or whipped cream. I served it with a maple infused whipped cream and some homemade praline sprinkled on top.

Serve it to your guests and reveal the secret ingredient afterward.

Molasses Spice Pie

1 1/2 cup            turnip puree 

1 cup                    packed brown sugar

2 Tbl.                   molasses

2                            eggs slightly beaten

1 1/4 cup            light cream ( I used equal parts heavy cream and half and half)

1/2 tsp                pumpkin pie spice

1/4 tsp               cloves, ground

1 tsp.                   cinnamon, ground

1 tsp.                   vanilla extract

1/2 tsp.              salt

Unbaked deep, 9 inch pie shell

Method

Peel and chop turnips (I used 4 medium sized ones), place in a pot and cover with water. simmer over medium heat until turnips are soft.  Drain and cool. Purre in food processor until smooth for puree.

preheat oven to 450 degrees F

Mix well in a large bowl until all ingredients are incorporated.  Pour into pie shell, place on sheet pan on center rack of oven. Bake fo 15 minute and then reduce heat to 350 degrees F. Bake for 40 minutes or until filling is almost set.

Remove from oven and cool on a rack.

Serve with whipped cream or vanilla sauce.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in CSA, foodie news, recipes, sweets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Depression Era Spicy Molasses Pie

  1. Benjamin says:

    Oh wow. So much more interesting than turnip mash. 🙂 I think I need to try this sometime, especially since I have my grandmother’s pie crust recipe now.

Leave a Reply

