Concord Apple Chutney

Last year we had a huge crop of Concord grapes from the farm.We had pureed and strained them and frozen them into batches. I was on a big homemade soda kick at the time so we would use them for grape soda. I still had a large stock of it in the freezer and wanted to use them up as I am moving at the end of December and need to start downsizing.  I have been trying to use up apples as well as it seems i have a never-ending supply form the farm this year but have been too lazy to make apple butter. I figured I would go for a chutney that I could can and set aside until needed. Did I mention I am not a huge lover of either grapes or apples-lol. This is generally how I end up with some recipes is using up food that I am not the keenest one. But,  it is why  continue with the CSA as it forces me to eat seasonally and use items I would not purchase. Keeps me out of my food comfort zone. this recipe is pretty big as I canned 3 pints I believe and have about another cup in the fridge. Easily can be reduced by half or quartered.

Concord Grape and Apple Chutney

2 lb                     Concord grape puree (puree and strain washed grapes)

1.5  lb                apples, cored and chopped (I used a mix of varieties)

1.5  cup              sugar

1/2 lb                 onions, chopped

2 cup                  apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup             raisins

1/4 cup            crystallized ginger minced

1/2 Tbl.               salt

1 tsp.                   black pepper

Combine ingredients in a heavy bottom pan and cook on low-medium heat for 40-50 minutes until thick.

Can and age for 30 days for best flavor development. I have refrigerated some and am aging for a week to serve with smoked ham. I did place a sprig of rosemary in each jar, we will see how it turns out.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in condiments, CSA, foodie news and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

