Worship at the child altar

Note: there are birth details here, avoid reading if squeamish or otherwise sensitive.

Today is my oldest sons 14th b-day.  When I was new mother my family and I would joke about how people would want to come and worship at the child altar. Babies seem to bring visitors out in drove, now 14 y.o. stinky teen boys not so much. I have to lure them with good food and promises of hand crafted cocktails. Later Ill blog about the food and cocktail yumminess.

I want to share I was in labor 36+ hours with L before I finally started giving birth. I had a home birth and the midwives were sure I was going to have to go to the hospital. I was exhausted and couldn’t do it much longer. They had set the time as 5am on Monday morning as the time to call an ambulance and go. I started my labor Saturday afternoon sometime. I was also 2 weeks overdue as well and had been trying every home remedy to induce labor at that point. It was around 3:30am when the back labor was so fierce that I had put a chair in the shower and sat with hot water beating on my back. It was in the next 30 minutes that I transitioned, where I was thinking I can’t do this and I need drugs now.  I had gotten out of the shower and was sitting on the toilet when I felt this huge urge to push. I told the midwife and she said “it’s likely your mucus plug” as she reached between my legs to knock it out. I saw the shift in her face to an oh shit moment. “That’s the baby’s head, DO NOT PUSH” she blurted. She yelled for the other midwife and I started groaning and making noises I rather not recall. I said something like “I can’t stop it its coming now” and went down on the bathroom floor.  In less than 30 minutes he was out and felt like a wet dishrag. he was born at 5am 9lb 8oz. He had been born in the caul, I had no tearing and was he more than healthy when he came into this world. Happy Birthday First Born.

I do have another son whois 11 and his birth was 8hrs from the first labor pain to birth,quick and easy luckily. He was

9lbs. I seem to make em big which is funny as I am only 5’3″…

My son at the playoff game, he plays right and left tackle on both sides

Wacky Hair Day at school spring 2009

the original KFC and museum in KY on 2008 x-mas road trip

My youngest at his flute recital Spring 2009, handsome devil in a yellow shirt and blue tie

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in family life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

