Cookie slaves..I mean elves

Normally I have huge bake offs for the holidays, making 6-9 different kinds of cookies. Not this year. We did do 3 kinds, your basic recipe from back of the bag chocolate chip cookies, sugar cookies and my grandmothers kolache. The sugar cookies I used the recipe linked to with classic colored icing. The kolache recipe was only just rediscovered last year. my grandmother died when I was 9 and I had never been able to recreate her kolache recipe. the dough was so tender and flaky. Cream cheese based doughs came close but I still wasn’t there. A recipe box was discovered of hers and in it was the recipe. It seems i had it all wrong, here I was thinking I needed to get more old school probably some 4 day technique that made them so yummy. Nope she probably got this recipe from lady’s home journal or some other 50’s publication like that. What I can say is these make the most kick ass kolache and are really easy to make (the dough at least), you will need some cookie slaves for all the decorating and kolache filling and folding.

Valerie’s Kolache

1 pints vanilla ice cream, very cold
1 pounds butter, soft
2 tbs sugar
4 cups flour
canned fruit filling

Cream together ice cream and butter. add sugar and flour. Chill overnight. Roll out onto floured board.
Bake at 350 degrees, cool on a wire rack and then liberally dust with powdered sugar.

note: I do a small square with filling and then opposing corners folded and pinched together as shown in the photos below. solo fillings in the baking aisle are good, almond and cherry being my fave, but poppy seed, apricot etc are just as tasty

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in family life, foodie news, recipes, sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cookie slaves..I mean elves

  1. Pingback: Cookiepalozza 2010 « Queenofone's Blog

Leave a Reply

