xmas in the hood

Time was sliding away from me this year. I thought we were moving on the sat after Christmas so was stressed about getting a tree etc, but then it was changed to January 9th.  I felt like the total slacker parent not doing any holiday festivities for the boys. So I grabbed and old fake small tree we had in storage and tried to put it up. Actually I had the boys put it up, but then they realized the stand was missing. So using my higher powers of ingenuity and female cunning, I constructed a stand from styrofoam and duct tape.

My fine cratsman ship, is shown in great detail here.The boys found it amusing to no end and opted out for the skirt or sheet I wanted to cover the makeshift stand with.

What added to our hood-magic was on Christmas morning after the presents weren’t providing counter weight, the tree tipped forward. It now has a 10 lb dumbbell keeping it stable. This tree comes in third for my most unusual or white trash trees I’ve experienced.  My number 1 is my uncle when I was 5-6 did a tree entirely decorated in crushed Old Style Beer cans. Thats classy.

The second tree would be when I was 8-9 we lived in a basement apt with radiators on the ceiling and the adults wired a tree upside down to the radiator, which included wiring on every ornament, the lights etc. I can recall being very upset because where was santa going to leave the present?

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in family life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

