Vanilla Applesauce

I love every season, each one has some type of food yumminess and seasonal experience I enjoy. Fall has been strolling into the midwest in a nice relaxed pace. Leaves are changing a chill in the air and fall harvest is putting its last hurrah out there. Falls of past have been cold miserable rushes into early frost and chilled extremities, so this year is a pleasant treat. My youngest son had to get braces in August and has pur a cramp into my cooking style as there have been stand by favorites that he cannot easily partake in. One is the satisfying crunch of biting into an apple you pluck from the tree. I thought rather than go for our yearly orchard trip and torment him further, I would enlisted some family members to bring me some apples from Indiana on their way up to visit. saturday they brought me about 8-10lbs of crisp tart apples, 5 varieties and each unique.

Last year I had an excess of apples and had made vanilla bean apple sauce. It was a huge hit, I had put a jar in the fridge and froze batches of it. I knew that D could enjoy the apple freshness of the sauce and still get some fiber and natural goodness in him. I usually wing it with applesauce but I did find a recipe similar to my approach. I will vary my citrus, sweeteners and spices to what I’m feeling. Today I have lime, honey and sugar, vanilla bean and cinnamon. In the past I have used maple sugar, orange  and tangerines, ginger, star anise and cardamom.

Finished chunky apple sauce

note:You know whats crazy? I started this draft topic in January of this year and never completed it. I’ll make draft titles to remind my self of topics etc that I want to share and when I don’t have one I can snag one of those. I have been wanting to make vanilla applesauce for the last week and thought I had blogged about it. So was bummed when I went to make it that I couldn’t find my post. I go in to post about it and there is the draft waiting for me. I must be partially insane smelling the apple vanilla goodness:)

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in foodie news, side dish type things, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

