Winter..really?

Somehow I am in denial its November. Perhaps it’s because we have had one of the nicest falls in a long time.  Leaves are still on the trees and the plants are going strong in the garden. The evenings are dropping into the 30’s now and tomorrows high is 45 I believe. This weekend I will have to de-Halloween my front yard and do some winterizing of the garden. Dead falling beds and turning the compost I’ve managed to neglect all summer. It was the spiders, I mean they are all happy living in and around the compost bin and ho am I to rock their little universe?  Sadly I am sure my compost heap is not at optimal conditions.

I took 3rd in the neighborhood Halloween decorating contest!! Tomorrow or Friday I’ll post the pics and some of the costumes I saw. Voting results have left me feeling dirty this morning. I was the only person in the office who voted yesterday…..There were 5 of us…only one had a reasonable reason and that’s because he is a Jehovah Witness and they do not vote. Perhaps they are right, if you are not for the American Republican majority, there is no purpose in standing up. But, I’m stubborn like that, Ill keep voting for the candidates who represent my views, regardless of their chances.

So its off for a shower and out to brave the brisk air. At least this weather begs for yummy knit things:)

P.S. I read this fantastic recipe and while I havent made it yet. I can read a recipe and know how it will turn out. this one is a keeper. I already have some changes in mind but it is an excellent starting point. Its Chorizo and pork Chili

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in foodie news, rant-a-licious-ness, recipes, soups/stews, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

