an the knit goes on

I am working on a sweater. Its my first one and I’m pretty nervous. It’s a hooded pullover for my sons b-day. I had ordered the yarn and it was taking longer than i expected. I didn’t want to start a new project that would be long so I started making a hat and then another and another and well I made 4 in 4 days….I call it my man hat series and each one is different and unique. I have pics of 2 of them here and once my other models get around to standing still I can post the others.

The Beanie of Love: man hat #2 is made of a light sport weight of 60% wool and 40%silk, it was a skein in a bulk lot of yarn I had gotten. It’s from Italy and I am not familiar with the brand. The pattern is called the Reversible Bike hat and does make a neat reversible light hat made for wearing under a bike helmet or out running. I made it for my friend who has been doing a lot of outdoor exercise and figured would keep his head warm without getting to hot. And for some reason pompoms are the rage so it has a pom pom on request.

The Beanie of Love: man hat series #2

The Cloud hat: man hat series #3, started with a pom pom. The first had I made, my son asked for a pom pom on top, then the second son saw it a demanded his own hat. I took him over to the stash and he choose a skein of light blue mix, I knew there wasn’t enough for  a hat so I added in some left over white I had. He also picked the pattern off of ravelry.com. it is called the swirly hat . I did a loose translation using a chunky yarn etc but turned out great and he has had a lot of his school peeps, wanting to know where he bought it. They don’t believe his mother made it and told him to prove it by having me make them a hat…..right……

My model isnt keen on modeling

The Cloud hat: man hat series #3

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in craftiness, family life, patterns and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

