Everyone needs a Knitting App.

Been to long since posting but time is slipping by between work and holidays, whew.  I have been mad knitting the last few weeks. I still have a boat load of project sin the hopper to complete before the year send and yet I still find the time to slip in random unplanned items.

This past weekend 12/4 and 12/5 was my eldest 15th birthday. He had raked in a lot of gift cards and kizash. I just have to interject if you got a $20 back in my day for your b-day, you were pretty damn happy. This kids taking in 50 and 100’s…I’m just saying. Anywhoo he went out a bought himself the new Ipod touch 4G, I’m sooo jealous….To bad there isn’t a mom app for everyone:)

He didn’t have enough for a cover and said once more loot came in he would buy one but in the meantime could I help a brother out?  I put down my current project (glad to take a break) and said off to the yarn stash to choose a color. My stash is getting slim and I wanted to do the cover in fingering weight so his options were a variegated gray or teal/turquoise color.  He opted for the turquoise.

As this was a temp. item I was just doing a functional cover rather ornamental.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pattern was pretty simple, I made it looser so he could fit his earphones in.

CO 36 on size 2 1/2 or 3mm DP needles.  (I tend to be a loose knitter so size 2 or 1 would be fine as well), PM for knitting in the round.

knit in round until length of pod (I did 4 1/4 inches)

BO 18 sts. place other 18 sts on one needle and knit in stockinette until long enough to fold over the top.

Start decreasing 2 stitch per round, do decreases on pearl rows and then knit next row, then decrease again. until 8 sts remain on needle.

Knit row, next pearl row- P2, K2tog, yo,yo, k2tof,P2.

Knit next row.
Decrease next row by 4, following row decrease by 2 ,draw yarn through last 2 sts and bo.
Yo has created a button-hole. Mark where hole is and sew button on.

 

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in craftiness, family life, patterns and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

