Cognac Cranberries

I totally ripped off Martha Stewarts recipe for this one. Martha donated a lot of recipes to my Thanksgiving this year. As I was cooking at my mother’s and driving in late evening, I knew I wouldn’t have time to play around too much in the kitchen. Of course it’s rare I’ll just follow a recipe so you can compare her’s and mine.

  • 2 14oz bags of cranberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1/2 cup Cognac
  • 2 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup fresh orange juice
  • 1/2 tsp allspice ground
  • 1/4 tsp clove ground
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom ground
  • 1 tsp ginger ground
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red-pepper flakes
  • Cinnamon stick, (1/2-inch piece)

Directions

  1. In a medium saucepan, combine all ingredients.
  2. Bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, and cook, stirring often, until syrupy, 20-25 minutes. transfer mixture to a bowl, let cool, and refrigerate until needed.
This is intense yummy cranberries, my mother equated them to brandied cherries. Now while I like cranberry with Thanksgiving, it’s really all the things I use it for after wards that I love.
Blue Cheese Toasties
sliced left over holiday bread. (sourdough, french, rye what ever is left from the table even rolls. Or buy fresh)
crumbled blue cheese (or if you prefer Brie)
cognac cranberries
Toast bread lightly in toaster oven or warm oven. Once lightly toasted, place on tray or sheet pan ann top with blue cheese or brie. Place back into oven until cheese is melted. Remove, place on plate and top with some of the cognac cranberries. Have a nice cup of tea or glass of wine and enjoy.
Is best to have the weekend of the holiday while enjoying some quiet time with a good old movie or while playing cards.
About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in condiments, foodie news, recipes, sauces and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cognac Cranberries

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving 2010 « Queenofone's Blog

Leave a Reply

