Slow Cooked Brandied Bone in Ham

For Thanksgiving we had ham and turkey and my mother has a pretty small oven. I decided to use the slow cooker for the ham. It was about a 10lb or so bone in ham. I placed it flat side down into the slow cooler. Of course the lid wasn’t going to fit. But we will address that matter in a moment. Into the slow cooker I put 1 cup of cheap brandy and one cup of orange juice. I rubbed the exposed ham with ground cinnamon, a pinch of clove, some cardamom and ginger.

Using heavy-duty foil it folded to lengths together to create a large piece with a seam in the center. I covered the top of the cooker and ham with this. I then used 2 old towels to cover the top to insulate as well. I placed the cooker on high and came back in 3 hours to check. My ham with the slow cooker I was using was fork tender and falling off the bone at 4.5 hrs. I let it sit for another 45min while getting the rest of the meal together.

With some help we removed the ham from the cooker to a platter and covered with the foil. Let the ham wait while you make the glaze. I took the cooking liquid from the cooker and skimmed off the fat. The liquid was sweet and salty. All the time in the cooker caused the brandy and orange juice to infuse the ham and most of the hams salt to leach out.

I took some of the cooking liquid and began to reduce down by half. I used about 3 cups to start. I added 1.3 cup of the ginger syrup I had made for cocktails. Once the glaze is thick bt not to syrupy I removed from the heat.

I sliced the ham and then drizzled with the glaze. It was amazing.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in foodie news, meaty goodness, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Cooked Brandied Bone in Ham

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving 2010 « Queenofone's Blog

Leave a Reply

