Pimps Corner: CHIRP Radio

On Monday CHIRP Radio (Chicago Independent Radio Project) will turn 1 year old.  Considering how much the have accomplished in a year the next few years should be stellar.They will be having many events this month to celebrate their first year. I’ve posted them below and suggest you at least go to their site and listen to some new tunes.

I turn 41 this year and I realized between single parenthood and working, I’ve lost touch with music. I’ve become a parent who listens to the same CD’s for the last 10 years. The only new music I have been exposed to recently is what ever my kids may play (Lady gaga..need I say more?) or what happens to be on the radio. When I say new music I mean music I am not familiar with.

CHIRP has me more often than not looking up the artist they are playing. Even though all the DJ’s (all volunteers), are not my style I still am listening to new music and getting turned on to new tunes and artists.  The focus at CHIRP is on Chicago music and independent and underground artist from around the globe.

I am actually considering volunteering at CHIRP and hope to have more posts about them in the future.

Official Anniversary Party Monday January 17 is the official one year anniversary date of the launch of CHIRPradio.org, and will be celebrated with the monthly CHIRP benefit show at The Whistler with a live set from Rambos, plus another special surprise live set. It starts at 9:30pm and is free. A portion of the bar proceeds benefits CHIRP. The Whister is located at 2421 N Milwaukee. This event is 21 & over.

Live Music! Thursday, January 20 is CHIRP’s One Year Anniversary Party at the Empty Bottle with music from Campfires (Mexican Summer Records), Black Math (Permanent Records) and Cool Memories. The show starts at 9pm and tickets are $8. The Empty Bottle is located at 1035 N. Western. This event is 21 & over. Ticket sales benefit CHIRP.

Reading Series on Wednesday, January 26. CHIRP’s popular reading series The First Time happens at Schubas with “First Car” as the theme. Special guests include Robbie Fulks, Josh Caterer (Smoking Popes), Susan Messing (Annoyance Theatre), Erin Shea, James Van Osdol, Matt Spiegel and Jim DeRogatis. Guests will write original pieces on the theme featuring a musical reference. Immediately following the CHIRP House band – Steve Frisbie, Liam Davis and Gerald Dowd – will play their song. It all starts at 8pm and tickets are $10. All proceeds benefit CHIRP. Schubas is located at 3159 N. Southport. This event is 21 & over.

Wrap Up Party! on Thursday, January 27. The Hideout hosts a CHIRP anniversary month wrap up party and benefit, with special guests TBA. The Hideout is located at 1354 W Wabansia. This event is 21 & over.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in cool stuff, pimps corner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

