Chicken with preserved lemons and green olives

I made preserved lemons in December from Meyer lemons my father had sent to me. I have been itching to use them and thought I would make a Tagine style chicken today. I didn’t reference one articular recipe but looked over about 10 before concocting my own. I don’t own a Tagine so used a dutch oven. Traditionally a whole chicken cut up would be used but I went with chicken breast. I devised a recipe that utilized ingredients i already had so I didn’t have to run out and buy something else. There are 2 main schools of thought it seems for this recipe style. To rub the chicken with spices before hand allowing to marinate for a few hours to marinate or to add the spices while cooking. I opted to add them while cooking but still wanted to marinate the chicken. I chose to simply marinate the chicken in garlic oil and pepper for an hour before cooking. I do not have any parsley, cilantro or chervil fresh for a finishing garnish but am sure it would be lovely with any of the three on top at serving.

meyer lemons I preserved

Chicken with Preserved Lemons and Green Olives (Tagine Style)

  • 2.5 lbs                          chicken Breast cut into large pieces (I cut each breast into 3)
  • 6 clove                         garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp.                           ground black pepper
  • 1/3 cup                        olive oil
  • As needed                   flour
  • 2                                  onions, minced
  • 1                                  yellow pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 Tbl                            fresh ginger, chopped
  • 1 large pinch                saffron (can use turmeric increase to 1tsp.)
  • ½ tsp                           cumin ground
  • ¼ tsp                           cayenne
  • ½ tsp                           cinnamon ground
  • 1 tsp                            coriander ground
  • 1                                  zest of ½ an orange
  • 1 cup                           white wine
  • 2 cup                           chicken stock
  • 1-3                               preserved lemons, rinsed well
  • 12                                large green olives pitted or cracked
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Combine chicken pieces, black pepper, garlic and 1 tbl oil in a container and marinate in refrigerator for 1 hour to overnight.

For the preserved lemon(s) rinse well in cool water and remove all the pulp from 1-2 lemons. The lemons I did are very large so I used one for cooking the recipe and another for garnish. The lemon(s) for cooking cut into 1/4s and thinly slice the peel. For garnish use well rinse 1/4s cut into half on top with a handful of chopped parsley or cilantro.

In the dutch oven heat half the oil left over medium heat. Dredge chicken pieces in flour and brown each side in pan. I had to do this in two rounds of cooking. Set browned chicken aside. Add remainder of oil , onions, yellow pepper, garlic and dry spices. If any garlic and oil is left from chicken scrape that in as well. Cook over medium heat for 3-5 minutes until onions and peppers are soft.

Add white wine and orange zest and cook for 1-2 minutes or until nearly dry. Add chicken stock . Place chicken pieces into pot. On top sprinkle sliced preserved lemon rind and olives. Cover so that the lid is askew and steam can escape.  Cook over low heat for 40 minutes, does not need to be stirred.  Check that chicken pieces are cooked through. If you wish sauce thicker, remove chicken to a platter, raise heat and cook sauce until consistency desired. season with salt and pepper as needed. Garnish with chucks of preserved lemon and fresh parsley or cilantro. Serve with cous cous or rice. I served it with roasted spaghetti squash as I am trying to limit carbs.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in foodie news, meaty goodness, recipes, soups/stews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

