You Got Jacked Biatch

In January of this year Illinois House voted to raise income tax. This article explains the gist. Now at first it hadn’t sunk in much to me, but I am a salaried employee. And have grown accustomed to my same ole paycheck I get every 2 weeks. So when I lost $35 a check I noticed quickly and was pretty hot. Hot enough that every time I get paid I am angry all over again. That’s $70 a month that has been taken from me. WTF,  that’s a utility bill or a real nice pair of shoes.

We are talking about an additional $840.00 a year I will never see. I may be more accepting if I was joining some elite state club and getting the gold membership, but we are cutting programs and funding. $840 is more than my yearly budget for cultural and city events like museums, shows and street fairs….With museums cutting the number of free days ( I recall when one day a week was free) and talk of privatizing lakefront events like taste of Chicago and Blues Fest, what’s a girl supposed to do?

It really brought home for me what is the average Chicagoan going to do for entertainment this summer? Gas prices are expected to skyrocket, the beaches the last few years are contaminated with ecoli and if the start charging for lakefront festivals…..Let’s say that I may be hanging around the fire hydrant in my lawn chair sucking on generic  freeze pops from the Aldi’s.

I was considering all the purchases I could make for $40 and came up with my list:

-I could go on a cruise or Mexico trip and pretend I was a world traveler for a few days

-I could get a nice massage every month

-It would pay for my son to go to the music school I couldn’t afford this past year even with the financial aid break (sadly I make 2k to much a year for discounted lunch programs as well)

-buy me and the kids nice bicycles with all the gear.

-pay for a whole year of CTA passes

-buy a share in a local CSA this year

-invest in a mutual fund for my retirement as we know social security will not be there when I am 65

 

I encourage you to tell me what you would do will the 3% income loss you will have this year?

 

I will say one of my friends figured out he is making $.50 less an hour and another associate who is well off has decided to pick up his family and businesses and move to another state.  With them planning on taxing our internet purchases and whatever they can find next..who else will leave?

 

 

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in my monthiles, rant-a-licious-ness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

