Spotted Dog or my fav soda bread

I love soda bread, scones and treacle bread…the dense crust almost chewy with a perfect crumbly inside. Spotted with currants or raisins and a schmear of butter…heavenly. Usually for St. Pat’s Ill whip up either corned beef etc or a nice hearty Guinness and lamb stew. The last few years I have been purchasing the soda bread. This year I am traveling on the 17th so my eldest asked if I would make corned beef, cabbage, potatoes and my secret horseradish mustard cream sauce.

I thought why not!! I am making corned beef tomorrow, champ and some type of cabbage. But today I decided to make soda bread. Spotted dog is soda bread with raisins basically. My recipe has a bit of spotted dog also caraway and some whole wheat flour to make it a bit of brown bread as well. I made 2 large loaves and 4 small as I find it’s just as easy to bake a little as it is to bake a lot and I love to share yumminess.

The recipe makes 2 large loaves or 4 smaller sized. It is pretty quick to pull together. You do not need to knead it for long. Just enough to make sure the dough has come together. cut it into its sections and then form your loaves. Maybe 2 minutes tops on a floured surface. Of course you can omit the caraway or fruit if you wish. You can also sub sour cream for yogurt, margarine or oil for butter etc…

 

Spotted Dog (soda bread with dried fruit) Recipe


Preheat oven to 450

12 oz of dried currants/raisins soak in hot water for 5 minutes and then drain. set aside

sift together dry ingredients:

  • 4 cup white flour (all purpose)
  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 6 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 Tbl. caraway seeds

 

Mix together wet ingredients:

  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 5 Tbl. melted butter

Mix together wet into dry and as it is coming together add fruit. Mix until just holding together and then dump onto floured surface. Knead lightly a few times to bring dough together. It will be sticky, keep hands well floured. With a sharp knife cut dough into either 2 or 4 equal portions.  With each portion roll lightly to create a round disc and cut an X into the top of each. Place on floured sheet pans and place in oven. Bake at 450 for 5 min, reduce heat to 375 if large loaves and 350 for small. Bake 40-55 minutes until very brown on top and when loaf is tapped on bottom it sounds hollow.

Place on a cooling rack and resist the temptation to eat a slice while its hot. This is not the case in my home 1/2 a large loaf evaporated before fully cool. My kids claim it must of been the cats or perhaps an Irish ghost.

 

note: once the wet and dry are mixed it activates the soda and buttermilk leavening action. Once they are mixed work quickly so as to get them in the oven right away.

 

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in breads etc, foodie news, updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spotted Dog or my fav soda bread

  1. Pingback: My St. Pats Dinner « Queenofone's Blog

Leave a Reply

