Cali-4-Ni-A

My sister lives in Cali. and we don’t get to visit often as she is a government employee in the forest service department. She is usually in the middle of the woods with limited or no internet. We have visited her at length in the Sequoia National Forest were she resides, but this year it is all about the coast. We flew into LAX and drove to Cayucos, CA.a small little coast town that is so mellow and friendly. We are lucky to have had some warm sunny days to enjoy as fog is common this time of year. We  explored Morro Bay, countless of little beaches and perfected the art of sunset watching.

In Morro Bay, we grabbed lunch at a kick ass spot called Otter Rock Cafe. Any of my blog readers know I know my food. I am not normally a bloody mary drinker, but my foody sense was going off and it was correct. Get the mary spicy with salt and you will not be disappointed. It was spicy, tangy and full of flavor. No bottled mix used here, all love. We moved on to the clam chowder, just to give it a try and it was very good. Not overly thickened a nice balance with meaty chunks of briny clams.  All except one of us, went for the fish and chips, 3 lightly fried pieces of flaky white fish with seasoned chips and slammin tartar. Not greasy or hidden by a thick crust of batter, it was the perfect accompaniment to the spicy bloody mary. One of our party had one of the many burgers that are on the menu. The burgers are made from local pasture fed beef. He got the cowboy with onion rings, bacon, cheddar and bbq. He refused to share but I did get an onion ring which was divine. I definitely got a local vibe when I was there which suited me just fine.
Otter Rock Cafe on Urbanspoon

We stayed at the Cypress Tree Motel , which is the friendliest place I’ve been. The have a nice outdoor garden with a grill for guest, so one night I threw down on the grill and we had steak and chicken tacos and roasted corn. Nothing beats a home grilled meal.

The following night we had dinner at the Schooners Warf. Very neat ship themed atmosphere with a stellar outside patio on the roof with a view of the beach, a must during sunset. The food was excellent.

Overall a relaxing trip to the California coast and I look forward to returning in the near future,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in family life, foodie news, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

