Easter musings

I was raised with out organized religion. My parents had been raised Catholic, my mother by Dominican nuns and she never went back to the church once she left her small farm town in rural Michigan. My father still goes to church and believes in god with a big G. My mother has gone the Mother nature- Buddhist route. Both parents left it up to us to choose. The trapping and ritual of Catholicism have always fascinated me. I went to 2 years of Catholic high school with nuns in full penguin mode and the convent on site.  It gave me insight into the church and their methods, but it was more clinical and never rang true for me.

Easter has always been a celebration of Spring and birthdays for my family. There are 8 April birthdays off the top of my head. I always thought of it as the candy midpoint towards Halloween. Usually by March all Halloween/x-mas/v-day candy was gone or tossed. Easter was an oasis before the long stretch of summer.

I knew people who celebrated with large dinners and church. We used to live across a large Catholic church in Chicago and I would enjoy hearing the bells and people gawking at everyone in their “Sunday best” heading to service. Easter seemed to be one of the big must go church times by the turns outs.

This morning when seeing my neighbors going to church, I was surprised to see them dressed so casual. shorts, gym shoes and baseball caps. The mom was in jeans and tennies as well. I was drawn to wonder what has changed for the faithful? I realize we have become a more relaxed society but I am surprised that showing respect to your savior is approached as casually as grocery shopping.

I guess it hand in hand with people glues to electronic devices and the lack of manners I witness. My sons often come home shocked  by how their friends speak to their parents or their cavalier attitude towards money and things. What happened? These parents tend to a bit older than I but why havent they instilled respect into their kids.

My sons know that please and thank you are to be used when speaking with any adult, they will help adult woman with groceries and open doors. They do chores and would never tell me no. When teens are questioning the parenting of their peers and their peers attitudes, perhaps we are on a very dangerous slippery slope.

On the upside they both will go far and succeed in part due to their manners, respect of others and ability to follow through on their responsibilities. The current mid 20’s employment pool is lacking in the similar sense of respect and etiquette in general.

In a way it seems just that even the church cannot prevent change in their followers. But it saddens me that we are losing sight of how our appearance and attitude shows respect to our beliefs, ideas, system or even people.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in rant-a-licious-ness, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easter musings

  1. Dagny says:

    It’s true, with manners and integrity like that your sons will stand apart from their peers. As men they’ll stand apart as gentlemen and a true gentleman is one of the finest things on earth!

Leave a Reply

