Teriyaki Crockpot Brisket

Even though I am on a juice fast I still have 2 teen sons to feed. Since we are in a nice cool spell I thought to finally use the brisket I picked up at the farmers market. I decided to go with the crock pot and more of a teriyaki theme than BBQ. Really because I am low on bbq sauce and wanted to use what was in the pantry.

???????????????????????????????

Teriyaki Crock Pot Brisket

step 1: I rubbed the brisket with my own secret bbq rub. But you can use a store bought one or toss together your own.

step 2:In the slow cooker I placed:

1 ginger beer (crabbies brand)

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1 can pineapple juice (the little ones)

1 split jalapeno

2 tbl dijon mustard

1 tbl Worcestershire sauce

1/4 cup tamari.

step 3: I laid the brisket in, covered, turned it on and walked away. It smells too good. About 7 -8hrs for a small one like I had which was about 2.5 lbs. Basically when it starts smelling good and looks like cooked meat see if its fork tender. If its done to soon just pull it out and move to next steps.

step 4: Brisket is done so remove it from cooking liquid and set aside. remove the jalapeno, skim the fat from the cooking liquid and save for later

step 5: in a sauce pan put the following:

2 cans pineapple juice

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup tamari

1tsp : dry mustard, ground ginger, onion powder, garlic powder

Bring to a simmer and reduce this by half the volume.

step 6: add cooking liquid and allow it to continue reducing until it the desired flavor. I like mine the consistency of au jus. While sauce is reducing slice or chop brisket how you wish it. place it in a serving dish. I pour the hot sauce over the cut brisket to warm the meat and infuse it with more flavor. I didn’t need to add salt either.

Serve it as you wish. I made egg noodles with a basil cream sauce and cucumber salad. But then I was using what was on hand. If I was doing a planned menu, I would go for grilled or roasted veggies, an Asian inspired slaw and Hawaiian bread on the side.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in meaty goodness, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teriyaki Crockpot Brisket

  1. Dagny Kight says:

    Oh my god even though it’s 10:00 in the morning I WANT THIS IN MY FACE NOW

Leave a Reply

