Making a minecraft cake

???????????????????????????????

My son for his 15 yo b-day asked for a cake like the one in minecraft ( a video game). I have made a b-day cake for my family and friends when they ask. Either I design one for that person or they can request one. This was one of the most labor intensive cakes ever…..

First I started with research I finally found a video which seemed to be what he wanted (he of course had to watch to make sure it was right kind of cake).

I made this red velvet recipe into 3- 8×8 pans the night before.

While the cake was baking I made this homemade fondant recipe using marshmallows. I am classically trained and pastry was my first love. I haven’t dealt with fondant going on 20 yrs and while I think this fondant worked I still prefer the classic method. and ill tell you if you live in an urban area go to a party city they sell fondant and gel dyes…

???????????????????????????????

the next day I made a coconut cream cheese frosting I didn’t like the proportions of the original so doctored my up a bit.

8oz cream cheese soft

8oz butter soft

cream together in mixer until smooth

add 3-4cups powdered sugar mix until smooth (taste for level of sweet remember fondant is pure sugar)

2 cups sweetened flake coconut.

???????????????????????????????

place one cake square on platter or in my case foil covered cookie sheet. use frosting to make 3 layer square cake. frost top and sides place in fridge to set.

pull out fondant and let soften and bit and warm up. If you didn’t color a small amount red and some brown do this now. Remember with the marshmallow fondant its powdered sugar that keeps it from sticking for the store bought it lard/butter.

the video lays out how the do the fondant pretty well. I had the b-day boy place the red squares and then it was done. We popped in fridge until after dinner.

He was so happy with the cake I got many I love yous and you are so awesome.I was told I met the cake challenge this year fantastically. It was very sweet and dense and moist. I skipped eating the fondant but the cake and coconut was delish!

???????????????????????????????

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in foodie news, recipes, sweets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making a minecraft cake

  1. John Fallon says:

    That was some prime cake!

Leave a Reply

