Really love your peaches, wanna shake your tree

Sunday may be the day of rest for some but for me its working remotely in the am and fun with peaches in the afternoon. I rarely ever like to do the same item every year. There are some staples I do but usually like to mix it up. Last year in was peaches in brandy, peach ginger jam and well that’s it. This year we have a bumper crop of basil so am thinking a peach-basil preserve, peach honey and maybe peaches in brandy…that’s a lot of peach peeling:).

Ok so what I ended up making was peach quarters in in a white wine syrup. I made 4 quarts of the beauties and used some white wine I had in the cellar. A few years ago my aunt had a bumper crop of concord white grapes. I ended up with 30+lbs. A friend of mine who does beer/wine/mead took half and made wine. Viola 2 yrs later I have this dry white with a very grapey nose. These peaches gonna me tasty in a few months. Btw I left the skins on all the peaches…I used the bruised for the preserves and the perfect ones for the wine. I still have 15 or so peaches left.

I used the below chart for my proportions:

Peachesweights are always approximated.. Pint1-1/4 lbs Quart2-1/2 lbs
Wine 3/4 cup 1-1/2 cups
Sugar 1/4 cup 1/2 cup
Waterbath Processing
25 minutes 30 minutes

I used 3/4 white wine and 1/4 Prichards Peach mango Rum

I left the skins on as I did the same last few times when I made brandy peaches. I like the color they lend.

???????????????????????????????

Peach Basil Preserves (pectin free): glorious amber color, lemony and laced with subtle basil reminders. delicious one its own or with cheese and crackers or used as a chutney/glaze for pork. yield 12 cups of preserves

4bs of peaches (weight after pitting, removing any blemishes and chopping up)

1lb of grated apples skin on I used plum pulp from juicing plums for plum honey.

4 cups sugar (organic, raw or white )

3 lemons zest and juice

3 large sprigs of basil

1 tbl ground ginger or 3 tbl grated fresh ginger

1 cup brown sugar (optional)

Mix peaches, apples, ginger, sugar and basil together in large non reactive bowl and cover. Leave to em to party it up while cooking something else ohhh like bacon…..that’s what I did , I made this twisted candy bacon that was too die for.

About an hour later add in your lemon juice and zest and toss your gloopy peach mess into a pot and bring to a low simmer. Once it has simmered enough that the basil is wilted, taste it and decide if you have enough basil flavor or if you want it stronger. If it fine remove the basil and toss or can be left in for more time. I like to add a leaf to the jar when adding the preserves for color and bit more flavor. But didn’t this time because my basil is mighty strong this year.

Find another task to keep you occupied but nearby for the 2 hours. I cleaned the shelves on my lazy susan and watched a new episode of Alphas. Just keep stirring the pot after about an hour taste it and decide if you want to add the brown sugar. I felt it needed some depth, so I did.

Once it seems thick and ready, I usually put some on a plate toss it in the freezer for 1 minute or so. once cool if it sets well then you’re ready.  Place in jars with 1/2 inch head space and process in water bath for 10-15 min depending on size of jars.

notes:

*If you are new to canning here is a guide for using a water bath.

*I used the basic 1 cup sugar per 1 lbs fruit ratio so paring this recipe down is easy peasy

*With this recipe I yielded: 7 1/2 pint and 4 12oz jelly jars.

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in canning, condiments, foodie news, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

