sugar plum fairie

My step mother’s neighbor has a plum tree and pear tree that grow TONS of fruit. Last year he gave me 30lbs plus of each fruit. I made pear butter, pear honey, pear brown sugar jam, pear infused booze, plum wine, plum jams, plum puree to freeze for drinks etc..

It is that time again. Came home from her place with 15lbs of plums and picked up 25lbs of peaches @ the farmers market. With money very tight this summer and me growing less in the yard, I wasn’t planning on putting much food up bu there i am. I did tell my faithful jam followers to get those jars back and to donate sugar as I am broke and canning for the family isnt cheap.

???????????????????????????????

I am looking for quick and easy  so today I am doing whole plums in honey syrup. Quick and easy ready to be used for baking or ready for smooching up over yogurt or ice cream. I used this recipe for reference. But chose to go with some grated whole nutmeg in the syrup and a little vanilla. I did 5 quarts as i still have peaches to do this weekend and my youngest (Diego), went to her house today and will be bringing another load of fruit back.

???????????????????????????????

Whole Plums Preserved in Honey Syrup

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups of honey
  • 4 cups of water
  • enough plums to fill four quart jars
  • 4 cinnamon sticks, a vanilla bean sliced into four pieces or four star anise bits( I used grated whole nutmeg into the syrup)

Instructions

  1. In a medium saucepan, combine the honey and water and bring to a boil.
  2. Bring a canning pot or large stock pot to a boil. Put your lids into a small saucepan and bring to a simmer.
  3. Clean canning jars and pack the plums in as tightly as you can. Insert your cinnamon stick, vanilla bean or star anise. Fill jars with honey syrup, leaving 1/2 inch of headspace.
  4. Wipe rims to remove all traces of any spilled honey syrup, apply lids and tightened rings. Process in a boiling water canner for 25 minutes (starting time when the pot returns to a boil after the jars have been placed inside).
  5. When processing time is up, remove the jars to a cutting board or towel-lined countertop (as they cool and seal, they might spit out a bit of sticky syrup, so don’t let them cool on any surface that can’t handle that). Let the jars cool undisturbed for 24 hours.
  6. When jars are completely cool, remove the rings, check the seals and wipe the jars down to remove any sticky residue. Label and store in a cool, dark place for up to a year.

???????????????????????????????

The next item I wanted to give a try was plum honey. No honey is in the recipe but it has the texture and color of honey. The pear honey I made last year is like crack. It was the one thing everyone has asked me to make again. That and apple butter. So I figure why not make some version of plum and peach honey.

I’m doing a very method for the plume. I’m juicing them adding sugar and reducing until the right viscosity. This is a test recipe so will be a smaller batch. I’m saving the juice pulp left overs to add to jam as plum skins are full of pectin.

I took

6 cups plum juice

3 cups sugar

reduce until consistency of honey and  can into hot jars and water bath for 10 minutes.

I ended up with 4 cups of plum honey.

???????????????????????????????

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in canning, foodie news, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

