commonalities in dating or not

I have been “single” for a long time in the last 12 years I have loved many but besides 2 relationships that were non conventional. Ive been rolling along pretty solo. Dating is an interesting social slice. I am not quick to jump into anything and while within the first 10-15 minutes I usually know if there will b a connection, I am open to being proved wrong. Sometimes I am pleasantly surprised and others not so much. Occasionally I’ll meet someone who I’ll feel there is possibility but realize its not with the current me and their current them.

I take time to mull things over. I take in the information and it’s processing away in some corner of my head until occasionally a nugget of insight comes out at a later date. Mainly why I like to space my dates out to have time to develop my impression. I recently had 2 dates in a short amount of time. 3 days apart with the same person. After the 2nd date this past Monday I was torn. I felt there could be some great interaction but there were some sticking point. They talked a lot about their ex…I mean a lot. They overstated many times how much they wanted a relationship and pressed me a few times in conversation about what I wanted. They used our same birth dates as the main reason why it would be an interesting experiment to date….

But I thought perhaps all those were the persons nerves and comfort level with me. I tend to be more reserved about my feelings and past with new people….Until today when the ticker tape machine in my head spit out the reason why…Why I am not feeling it….

They don’t like Will Ferrel…we were going to a matinee movie and I suggested AnchorMan 2…now I have dated a full gambit of people will different tastes in everything. From music, lifestyles, food and movies..But what I realized was he didn’t like him because he comes across as above simple things..He came across as judgmental about peoples choices, lifestyles etc. It more of the tone and eye roll vs right out saying so. And that is why I realized we would not last long. My life is full of controversy and interesting controversial people and I wouldn’t change a thing. Next!

 

 

About queenofone

I was in the food biz for over 20 years and still love food more than ever. I knit, create, write, mother, date, live and get angry. All I share here and hopefully with some kick ass pics to boot.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

